"Never Google Heartbreak" by Emma Garcia

Vivienne Summers is heartbroken when her fiancé Rob breaks off their engagement for a third time.  Miserable and alone, she does what any heartbroken girl would do - she Googles heartbreak.  But when faced with the depressing results she receives, she decides to start her own self-help website for the broken-hearted.

Even though Vivienne is trying to help others get over their heartbreak, she is determined to win Rob back and won’t let something like his new fiancée get in her way.  But when she finally gets what she wants, she realizes that maybe Rob isn’t the one, and her true love was right there in front of her all this time.  Will she be able to find her happiness or will she experience heartbreak once again?

Never Google Heartbreak is the debut novel from Emma Garcia and is a fun chick lit novel full of craziness, laughs, and heart-warming moments.  This book had so many laugh out loud moments for me, and I found myself reading parts aloud to my husband many times, and they had him laughing, so I know that’s a sign of a funny book.

I really liked the character of Viv.  The main characters of chick lit books are often frustrating for readers, oblivious to what is going on around them and making the silliest decisions.  This is perfect for creating crazy moments in the book but it often makes the character annoying and they aren’t always likeable.  Emma Garcia has managed to make Vivienne one of those frustrating characters who are still likeable and endearing to the reader.   So even when she made terrible decisions and wasn’t the nicest to people around her, you aren’t put off by her, which is an important thing in this sort of novel.  The rest of the characters in the book make up a great group of people, some you will absolutely love (every woman needs a Max in her life and a friend like Lucy) and some you will love to hate.

There are a couple of things that kept this from being a five star read for me.  One is that the website theme isn’t much of a theme at all.  The website plan sort of takes a backseat to Viv’s life, whereas I was expecting it to be the main part.  As well, there was a bit more swearing and sexual language than I prefer in a chick lit novel.  But seeing as that is a personal preference, and the plot of the book is fun and enjoyable, I’m sure this will be a five star book for many readers.


Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk, meet Emma Garcia.  Vivienne Summers may very well become your next favourite heroine and the one you will want to keep visiting over and over.  Thankfully, it looks like she will be back soon.

I received a copy of this book courtesy of the publisher through Netgalley.

Comments